Lessons in humility

“You are the life of my life. You are the soul of my soul. Therefore, I leave my life and soul in your hands and cling to You completely with a humble heart. May Your eminence regard my lowliness. May Your highness regard my worthlessness (Psalm 113:4-7). Why do I desire to be praised by the world? Nothing in it is pure…In You [may] I rejoice and glory.”

Excerpt from Johann Gerhard, ‘Prayer for the Preservation and Increase in Humility’ in ‘ ‘Meditations on Divine Mercy’ (translated by Matthew Harrison).

Leave a Reply

